People’s Parliament

Since starting university in September I have not been as politically involved as I would have liked. I have found it hard to find my feet here at King’s. My naive expectation was that I would be surrounded by like-minded, inspired and intelligent students who shared my outlook on society and life in general. Instead, I have been faced with vast ideological differences and a right wing, sexist attitude I thought I had left behind at high school. On a whim I decided to attend a talk held by People’s Parliament, on ‘Why the rich don’t pay tax’. It was by far the best decision I have made all year. parliament

Just entering the House of Commons and Parliament in a way I never expected to was inspiring and nerve-racking all at once. Politics was an idea and a dream I gave up on a while ago. Yet, walking through the decadent corridors and sitting in a room full of like-minded people inspired me all over again. The concept of People’s Parliaments is both excellent and paramount. Politics is often viewed as inaccessible, stuffy, boring and elitist. Part of the reason I had begun to give up on going into politics is because it seems so unattainable – I am not a privately educated man that went to Oxbridge. People’s Parliament allows ordinary people and MPs alike to discuss and debate important issues and thus bring politics to an accessible, and even enjoyable, level. The initiatives aim is to ‘liven up’ and provide ‘political depth’ in the run up to the next general election. It became clear to me throughout the evening that there are genuine people in politics who not only vary from the stereotype but also believe in a system that supports everyone – not just the few.

I encourage anyone in London to come along to the events. They are free and informative and they provide a platform for debate on a personal level that I have never seen in politics. I genuinely believe that this idea could be revolutionary. The apathy that has swept the nation needs to be tackled. One of the ways to do this is to show, through initiatives like People’s Parliament, that politics is about more than just white, middle aged men in suits. It is about the views of the people and holding those in power accountable to us, the people.

Check out the upcoming events here, follow them on twitter and like them on facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

